Skip to main content

Contact

Office Location

177 Huntington Ave.
9th Floor
Boston, MA 02115

Education

  • MBA, Northeastern University

About Me

  • Hometown: Melrose, Massachusetts
  • Field of Study: Personal Health Informatics
  • PhD Advisor: Misha Pavel

What are the specifics of your graduate education (thus far)?

I am pursuing my PhD part-time while working full-time.  I work in the pharmaceutical industry for a company that uses technology products to collect patient and clinician data for clinical trials.

What are your research interests?

I am interested in researching which physiological, environmental, and observational factors will provide a sufficient baseline for an individual that we can monitor via wearable technologies to gain an understanding of which factors were present when a migraine episode occurred.  The goal is to develop a system to monitor changes in this baseline profile along a timeline to predict the onset of migraine headaches.

What’s one problem you’d like to solve with your research/work?

I would like to apply the approach described above to effectively predict the onset of migraine episodes and enable proactive intervention to minimize the impact of each occurrence.

What aspect of what you do is most interesting?

The journey is always interesting to me.  I find that looking to answer one question often leads me to research other related areas, and sometimes the answer I sought is not the most valuable learning I gained through the effort!

What are your research or career goals, going forward?

I hope to continue to enhance my knowledge of the research field, and I would like to move toward career positions with more research-related responsibilities.

Where did you grow up or spend your most defining years?

I grew up in the Boston area (Everett, Massachusetts) and lived there until I moved to Melrose almost 30 years ago.